2C for ART

Ian Davenport

Colourfall

Fine art exhibition " Colurfall" with Ian Davenport at 2CforART in Salzburg

From May 19, the British artist Ian Davenport will be presenting his latest works at Gallery 2CforArt in Salzburg. In addition to a painting on aluminum, etchings and screenprints in small editions are part oft he show. The vernissage will take place on Saturday, May 19th from 11:00.

Ian Davenport was born in 1966 in Sidcup in the English county of Kent. He studied art at Northwich College of Art and Design and graduated from Goldsmith College, University of London, in 1988. In the same year he participated in the exhibition “Freeze” in the London Docklands, which was curated by Damien Hirst. In 1991, Davenport was nominated for the prestigious Turner Prize. At the 2017 Biennale, Davenport caused a sensation with his “Giardini Colourfall”, a 14-meter-long painting in his typical style. As per September, Davenport’s works will be presented at Dallas Contemporary, Texas, in an extensive museum exhibition.

The hallmark of Ian Davenport is his world-famous “Puddle Paintings”. For these images, Davenport uses a syringe to bring the colors on aluminum panels. “This technique allows me a precise control of the liquid,” said Davenport in Salzburg. The term “Puddle Paintings” comes from the fact that the colors in the lower edge of the picture collect in a puddle.

Davenport’s works have been featured in major contemporary art galleries, including. a. the “Tate Britain” in London, the “Paul Kasmin Gallery” in New York or the “Art Plural Gallery” in Singapore. In recent years, his pictures have achieved enormous value increases – for large formats (200 × 200 cm) are now sold at prices of up to 120,000 euros.

2C for ART

Ian Davenport

Colourfall

Colourfall by Ian Davenport

Am 19. Mai präsentiert der britische Künstler Ian Davenport seine neuesten Arbeiten in der Galerie 2CforArt in Salzburg. Neben einem Gemälde auf Aluminium sind Radierungen und Siebdrucke in kleinen Auflage zu sehen. Die Vernissage findet am Samstag 19. Mai ab 11:00 Uhr statt.

Ian Davenport wurde 1966 in Sidcup in der englischen Grafschaft Kent geboren. Er studierte Kunst am Northwich College of Art and Design und machte 1988 seinen Abschluss am Goldsmith College der University of London. Im selben Jahr nahm er an der Kunstausstellung »Freeze« in den Londoner Docklands teil, die von Damien Hirst kuratiert wurde. 1991 wurde Davenport für den renommierten »Turner Prize« nominiert. An der Biennale 2017 sorgte Davenport mit seinem „Giardini Colourfall“ für Aufsehen, einem 14 Meter langen Gemälde in seinem typischen Stil. Ab September sind Davenports Arbeiten im Rahmen einer umfassenden Museums-ausstellung im Dallas Contemporary in Texas, USA zu sehen.

Das Markenzeichen von Ian Davenport sind seine weltbekannten »Puddle Paintings« (Pfützenbilder). Für diese Bilder bringt Davenport die Farben mit Spritzen auf Aluminiumtafeln auf. »Diese Technik ermöglicht mir eine präzise Kontrolle der Flüssigkeit«, erklärte Davenport in Salzburg. Die Bezeichnung »Puddle Paintings« kommt daher, dass sich die Farben im unteren Bildrand in einer Pfütze sammeln.

Davenports Werke wurden in wichtigen zeitgenössischen Kunstgalerien präsentiert, darunter u. a. die »Tate Britain« in London, die »Paul Kasmin Gallery« in New York oder die »Art Plural Gallery« in Singapur. In den letzten Jahren haben seine Bilder enorme Wertsteigerungen erzielt – für Großformate werden mittlerweile Verkaufspreise von bis zu 120.000 Euro erzielt.